Certificate in Airport Ground Handling and Customer Service
Last updated · Confirm dates, fees and eligibility on the official website before you apply.
Passenger handling, check-in systems, ramp coordination and airport safety. India's rapid airport expansion has created steady hiring, though employers conduct their own mandatory training regardless of prior certification.
- Duration
- 0.5–1 years
- Entry after
- Class 12
- Indicative fee
- ₹5,000 – ₹60,000total, varies by institution
- Entrance exam
- None
- Study mode
- OnCampus
- Licence
- Not required
Course overview
Passenger handling, check-in systems, ramp coordination and airport safety. India's rapid airport expansion has created steady hiring, though employers conduct their own mandatory training regardless of prior certification.
Eligibility and admission
Who can apply. 12th pass; grooming and communication standards apply.
How you get in. Direct admission (aviation academies); airline and ground handler selection follows.
How it is studied. Full-time or part-time; many providers offer online or blended delivery.
Admission rules change every year. Confirm eligibility, the entrance test and the calendar against the current official notification.
Where this can lead
Where people work.
- Airlines
- Ground handling companies (AISATS, Celebi, Bird Group)
- Airport operators (GMR, Adani)
- Cargo handlers
- Airport retail and lounges
What you can study next.
- BBA Aviation
- Aviation management degree
- Cabin crew transition
- Airport operations management
Cost, duration and indicative earnings
Indicative total course fee. About 5,000 - 60,000 total; varies widely by provider and duration.
Indicative starting salary. 15,000 - 30,000 per month.
Typical duration. 6 months - 1 year.
Fees and salaries here are indicative ranges, not quotes. Confirm the current fee with the institution and treat the salary as a starting range that varies by employer and location.
What you learn
Over 6 to 12 months, you learn to assist passengers, use check-in systems, coordinate ramp work and follow airport safety procedures.
| Stage | Core content | Alongside it |
|---|---|---|
| Throughout | Passenger handling, check-in systems, ramp coordination and airport safety. | Customer service, communication and grooming standards used in ground staff selection. |
Ask before you enrol. How many hours will I spend practising on a check-in system and learning ramp coordination, rather than only attending classroom sessions?
Who it suits
This course suits a Class 12 pass student who wants entry-level work in airport passenger service or ground operations within 6 to 12 months.
- You want to learn check-in systems, passenger handling, ramp coordination and airport safety.
- You are comfortable meeting grooming and communication standards used in airline and ground-handling selections.
- You prefer a short course, with recorded total fees ranging from about ₹5,000 to ₹60,000.
- You want to apply for roles such as Customer Service Agent or Ground Staff after training.
- You understand that airlines and ground handlers will give their own mandatory training even after this certificate.
- This course does not suit you if you want a licence to practise or assured selection by an airline or airport employer.
What it will actually cost you
For this 6 to 12 month certificate, budget about Rs 5,000 - 60,000 in total course fees, with a wide difference between providers.
| Line item | Typical | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| Course fee | Rs 5,000 - 60,000 total | The amount varies by provider and course duration. Check if the quoted fee covers the full course or only one part of it. |
Ask the training provider about scholarships, reserved-category fee concessions and its refund rules before you pay. Some courses are NSQF-aligned, but the certificate and fee terms depend on the provider.
Indicative ranges, not quotations. Confirm the current fee with the institution before you pay anything.
Certifications that change what you earn
What it pays, and what changes it
In India, entry-level airport ground staff and customer service roles usually start at ₹15,000 to ₹30,000 a month. Pay rises with airport experience, shift work, communication skills and the role you handle.
India
Airlines, ground handling companies, airport operators, cargo handlers, lounges and airport retail hire for these roles.
| Stage | Monthly | What it depends on |
|---|---|---|
| Entry-level ground staff or customer service agent | ₹15,000–₹30,000 | After selection by an airline, ground handler or airport employer. You will still complete the employer's mandatory training. |
| Experienced airport customer service or ramp coordination staff | Not specified | After experience in passenger handling, check-in systems, ramp coordination or airport safety. |
| Senior airport operations support role | Not specified | With several years of airport experience and responsibility for shifts, teams or a specialised work area. |
Indicative bands for 2026, not measured salary data. What people actually earn varies by employer, state and sector.
The honest part
Airport work often means early mornings, late nights and shift duty, because flights run outside office hours. A certificate does not replace an employer’s mandatory training or selection process. Grooming and communication standards apply, and you may compete with many other Class 12 pass applicants for customer service or ground staff roles. Fees range from about ₹5,000 to ₹60,000, so check what training, placement support and certificate are actually included before paying.
There is no licence to practise for this route, and the course takes six to 12 months rather than several years. You learn work that employers use: passenger handling, check-in systems, ramp coordination and airport safety. Airport expansion has created steady hiring, and the recorded starting pay range is about ₹15,000 to ₹30,000 a month.
People who do well usually treat the certificate as a starting point, not a ticket to a job. They build clear spoken communication, meet grooming standards, learn airport safety rules carefully and stay reliable on shifts. They also prepare for airline or ground handler selection separately, since the employer trains new hires in its own procedures.
Who can apply
1 route into this course.
| Qualification | Stream | Minimum | Subjects |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class 12 | Any | — |
Percentages are indicative. State directorates and individual institutes set their own cut-offs, and reserved-category relaxations differ by state.
Careers this course leads to
2 routes mapped from this qualification.
A course supports eligibility and preparation. It never guarantees a particular job.
Common questions
Who can apply for Certificate in Airport Ground Handling and Customer Service?
12th pass; grooming and communication standards apply. Admission is through Direct admission (aviation academies); airline and ground handler selection follows.
How long does Certificate in Airport Ground Handling and Customer Service take?
6 months - 1 year. Full-time or part-time; many providers offer online or blended delivery.
What does Certificate in Airport Ground Handling and Customer Service cost?
About 5,000 - 60,000 total; varies widely by provider and duration. These are indicative ranges, not quotes. Confirm the current fee with the institution.
What can I study after Certificate in Airport Ground Handling and Customer Service?
BBA Aviation, Aviation management degree, Cabin crew transition, Airport operations management.
Turn this into a decision you can defend
Compare the route, follow where it actually leads, and keep one alternative in view before you apply.